Yardy One-Name Study

David Skyrme - Profile

david skyrme

I am a retired management consultant living with my wife Jane in the village of Highclere, Hampshire, England. I have always been interested in local history and in later life family history having such an unusual surname. I launched the Skyrme Family Website in 1996. After winding down my paid career in 2010, I restarted my family research in earnest and started researching historic records with the name Skyrme and then the rarer Yardy. I do my research using one of my laptops from the comfort of the sofa in our lounge 2-3 nights a week.

Current residence:

Highclere, Hampshire (see map) - now well known through Highclere Castle being the filming location for the period drama Downton Abbey. It is 5 miles south of Newbury. We have lived at Highclere since 1998 and before that we lived in Wash Common, Newbury for 20 years.

Earlier residences: When single - Norwich, Hornchurch (Essex), Bourton-on-the-Water (Gloucestershire), Oxford. After marrying - Arnos Grove (North London), Withington (Manchester), Bramhall and Knutsford (Cheshire), Marlborough (Massachussetts, USA), then Newbury and Highclere.

Family: Wife Jane, three grown up and married children living in Reading (Berkshire), Harpenden (Hertfordshire) and Hordle near Lyminton (New Forest). Six grandchildren.

Career: I started life as a computer systems analyst and programmers, then worked for Digital Equipment Corporation (DEC) for 22 years in many roles - sales, product management, marketing, new initatives. After being made redundant in 1993 I set up my own management consultancy, specialising in knowledge management. I'm now retired but still keep the business website which has my business profile.

Volunteering: Since retirement I do regularly voluntary work for several organisations: a trustee, speaking, advising and fundraising for Careers Springboard West Berkshire (helping out-of-work managers and professionals get a new job)and The Highclere Society (our village community society). For 10 years I was webmaster for CPRE Hampshire (a countryside charity).

Other interests: Environment and sustainability (see www.sustainabilityknowledge.com), photography, astronomy, rambling/hiking (walking holidays), geology, chess (Newbury Chess Club), cycling and swimming.



This page last updated 10th August 2016